Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-23952099
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Other Web Resources
Reference Management Software
Physics
Welcome to the subject Resource Guide on Physics!

This resource guide serves as window to scholarly resources in the area of Physics. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point. We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions.
IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC

 

 

 

All Items by Source

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Physics
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource
Library at IIT Gandhinagar has sizeble collection of books, journals and other relevant reading materials on Physics. Books in this subject area are classified under the following Class Numbers(i.e.530-539).

PHYSICS

530 :    Physics    
531 :    Classical mechanics, solid mechanics    
532 :    Fluid mechanics, liquid mechanics    
533 :    Gas mechanics    
534 :    Sound & related vibrations    
535 :    Light, Optics & infrared & ultraviolet phenomena
536 :    Heat    
537 :    Electricity & electronics    
538 :    Magnetism    
539 :    Modern physics
To findout the books on Physics, please search in Library WebOPAC.


Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. This collection is organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list, you may visit here.

REFERENCE BOOKS

Reference Books
Print Location: Both wall side of reading area in Library Restricted Resource
Library has number of collection of Reference books such as dictionaries, handbooks, and encyclopedia etc. in physics.
To retrieve Reference materials, we are encourage you to search into Library WebOPAC

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks on Physics
Print Location: Reading Area of the Library
  • Fraden, J. (2004). Handbook of modern sensors: physics, designs and applications. New York: Springer Verlag.
    Acc. No.: 013108                                      Call No. 681.2 FRA
     
  • Hinterdorfer, P. (2009). Handbook of single-molecule biophysics. New York: Springer.
    Acc. No.: 002205                                       Call No. 571.4 HAN
     
  • Lide, D. R. (2009). CRC handbook of chemistry and physics: a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. Boca Raton: CRC Press.
    Acc. No.: 000355                                      Call No. 540.212 LID

DICTIONARIES

Online Dictionaries on Physics
Following links enrich your knowledge about Physics by offering you in-depth explanations and definitions of terms, abbreviation and phrases etc.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

PRINT JOURNALS

Periodicals
Print Location: Journals & Magazines Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to the following collection of journals & magazines in print in the area of Physics and these are displayed in periodical section of the Library.
List of print journals on Physics

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text availableopenURL
Provides an access to over 3000 e-books from more than 100 well-known publishers covering almost all disciplines.
E-Books Directory Some full text availableopenURL
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.
FreeScience.info Some full text availableopenURL

There is a so large amount of free books around the net that soon every information will be available online without the need of buy any books.


HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Million Book Project Some full text availableopenURL
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
Project Gutenberg: Physics Some full text availableopenURL

Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.


BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

ADS Database Some full text availableopenURL

A Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.


ERIC Database openURL

The world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.


SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

Academic Index openURL
Academic Index is a meta-search tool that includes results from mega-information databases which indexes only research quality reference and information sources.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) openURL
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, it index to over 70 million academic and research oriented documents including theses and dissertations from 3,000 repositories.
CiteSeerX openURL
CiteSeerX is scientific literature search engine which indexes over 1.5 million documents and 30 million citations.
Google Scholar openURL
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.
Science Research openURL
Science Research.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query.

OPEN ACCESS DIRECTORIES

ADS Digital Library openURL

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics.


ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Access to all subscribed e-journals
This is a comprehensive list of E-Journals on Physics subscribed by the Library at IIT Gandhinagar.To download the list of E-Journals on Physics click here.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
AIP is one of the world's premier professional bodies and publishes number of scholarly journals.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
APS - a leading professional body publishes internationally known and highly cited physics research journals.
Digital Einstein Papers Some full text availableopenURL
Princeton University Press proudly presents The Digital Einstein Papers, an open-access site for The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.
Indian Journal of Biochemistry & Biophysics Restricted Resource
This journal publishes since 1964 by NISCAIR, New Delhi. It provides solicited peer reviewed articles on contemporary Themes and Methods in Biochemistry and Biophysics form an important feature of IJBB.
IOP Science: Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
IOP science embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, and technical content on Physics.
Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy Restricted Resource
It is a quarterly journal published by the Indian Academy of Sciences.
JSTOR Archives: Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available

JSTOR collection archives and provides access to archival of more than scholarly journals and academic disciplines from 800 + publishers.


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text database offering journal articles from peer reviewed journals which is published by Elsevier.Library  has subscription to set up core titles and tiles falling under five subjects viz E-SodhSindu.
Springer Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics.

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

E-Print Archives
  • arXiv
    Hosted at Cornell, includes physics, astronomy, math, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics papers.
  • CERN Document Server
    Particle physics articles, preprints, books and proceedings papers
  • ICTP Preprints Archive
    Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics papers in Applied Physics, Condensed Matter and Statistical Physics, and more
  • Organic Eprints (Meta e-print archive)
  • INSPIRE-HEP
    This database covers high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, indexed by the SLAC (Stanford Linear Accelerator Center) and DESY (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron) libraries since 1974. .
  • Mathematical Physics
    Preprint archive, 1991 to present

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Free Physics Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Find a meta list of Free Physics Textbooks, part of our larger collection 200 Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection.
Intech Open Books Some full text availableopenURL
Intech is committed to Open Access as a way of publishing scholarly work
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
Open Textbook Library Some full text availableopenURL
Open Textbook Library hosted by the University of Minnesota. It covers over 160 college-level textbooks with an emphasis on Science and related fields.
Saylor.org Bookshelf Some full text availableopenURL
100+ books are freely available for download, online reading, and sharing for students, and reaserchers.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Australian University Theses & Dissertations openURL
Australian University Theses & Dissertations are available under platform of Trove which serves as one point access to over 9,91,000 theses and dissertations.
Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK) Some full text availableopenURL
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.
IndCat : Online Catalogue of Theses openURL
It is an Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) openURL
It is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, use, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.
Theses Canada openURL
Theses Canada is a central access point for theses submitted to Canadian universities. It holds over 3 lakh theses from 70 universities in both electronic and print formats.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

Subject Gateways
Subject gateways contain web resources that have been evaluated and quality checked by subject specialists. Below are some subject gateways you might find useful.

AstroWeb: It provides a collection of pointers to astronomy related information on the Internet.
Online Particle Physics Information: It is a guide to particle physics resources. It is maintained by staff from the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, and from the Particle Data Group.
Physnet :It provides a collection of information services for physicists, based on information that is found on websites of physics institutions and university departments that are accepted by the learned societies.
PSIgate: It is a free service that offers access to high quality Web resources in the physical sciences.
Phys Net: It offers country-wise lists of Physics departments and institutes, lists of documents, online literature, preprints, research reports etc.
 

NEWSLETTERS

OPEN COURSEWARE

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth openURL Resource contains video
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.
Brightstorm: Physics openURL Resource contains video
Learn Physics from the best teachers and best lectures.
MindBites: Physics Videos openURL Resource contains video
MindBites Physics category has physics lessons, instructions by the award-winning professors in Physics
NPTEL Resource contains videoopenURL
NPTEL provides E-learning through online-web and video courses. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware.
TEDx openURL Resource contains video
TEDx encourages discovering and sharing ideas with others. It has covered 30,000+ videos.
Youtube openURL Resource contains video
YouTube is provides the best lecture series videos on physics.

DISCUSSION FORUMS

Physics Discussion Forum openURL
Following are the online discussion forums which allows groups to communicate asynchronously on a particular subject.

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

AWARDS

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

Social Networking for Physicists
The following Social networks sites providing a platform for Academics to share your ideas and thoughts for your research.