Library | Resource Guides | Open Access Resources
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Open Access


Image courtesy of openaccessweek.org distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License

What is Open Access?
Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Read more click here
Open Licensing

Creative Commons 
Creative Commons enables to share your knowledge and creativity with the world through free legal tools. For more details visit here

Publisher Policies
Publisher Policies for Self-Archiving by authors & Libraries
While you select a journal for publishing your research paper, please do consider whether the publisher allows you or your library to archive pre-print, peer-reviewed version or published version of your paper. Here is a Directory ( Sherpa/ RoMEO/Juliet) which lists journals and their policies and will be good help to you in deciding.
 
OAR- Videos
  • What is Open Access?
  • Peter Suber on the Future of Open Access
  • Open Access Explained!
Open Access Resources
Welcome to Resource Guide on Open Access Resources!
 

This resource guide serves as gateway to various resources available under the Open Access Initiative. Open Access Resources are available in various forms and types such as e- journals, e-books, Electronic Theses & Dissertations, Directories, e-print archives, digital repositories, open education resources, search engines and blogs etc. All these resources are scholarly and useful to support our academic and research work and are available on the web. Most of these being free, can be accessed without any restrictions at the user end. Resources listed here are mainly on the web, except few, which are part of library collection.

This resource guide, enable you to access at one point, a large number of national and international scholarly resources  and by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as useful starting point for scholarly resources and request for your comments and suggestions.

All Items by Source

DATABASES

High Throughput Experimental Materials Database
The High Throughput Experimental Materials (HTEM) database is a collection of more than 140,000 sample entries of data on inorganic thin-film materials for advanced energy research. The entries offer “details about the structural, chemical, and optoelectronic properties of the materials, and their synthesis conditions,” 

BOOKS AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Open Access
Print Location: Library Stock Area
  • Crawford, W. (2011). Open access: what you need to know now. Chicago: American Library Association.
    Acc. No.: 013931                                       Call No.: 070.57973 CRA
     
  • Eve, M. P. (2014). Open access and the humanities: contexts, controversies and the future. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Acc. No.: 019971                                      Call No.: 070.57973 EVE
     
  • Suber, P. (2012). Open access. Cambridge : MIT Press.
    Acc. No.: 012874                                       Call No.: 070.57973 SUB

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Digital Library of India Some full text availableopenURL
Initiated under the Million Books Project, digitized and hosted all the significant works published in India. Supported by Govt. of India with active participation of 21 Centers.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text availableopenURL
Provides an access to over 3000 e-books from more than 100 well-known publishers covering almost all disciplines.
E-Books Directory Some full text availableopenURL
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Internet Archive Some full text availableopenURL
Internet Archive is nonprofit digital library providing the free public access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
Million Book Project Some full text availableopenURL
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
Project Gutenberg Some full text availableopenURL
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free e-pub format books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

ChEMBL Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access database of chemistry resources at European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI).
ChemSpider Some full text availableopenURL
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing full- text and access to over 58 million structures from hundreds of data sources owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ChemSynthesis openURL
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) openURL
A free bibliographic database offering over 200,000 records of all publications by American Society of Civil Engineers.
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies openURL

This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science.

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography openURL
DBLP Provides bibliographic information on Computer Science. Indexes more than 1 million articles and also it contains 10,000 links to home pages of Computer Scientists.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) openURL
This database provides access to over 1.5 million educational literature and resources.
Indian Science Abstracts openURL
Indian Science Abstracts (ISA) is a bibliographical database published by NISCAIR.
IndMED openURL
IndMED - bibliographic database covering prominent peer reviewed 100 Indian medical journals bibliography.
PubMed openURL
It is a database primarily of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

OPEN ACCESS DIRECTORIES

OpenDOAR openURL
An authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories and provides a quality-assured listing
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) openURL

ROAR is a searchable international Registry of Open Access Repositories indexing the creation, location and growth of open access institutional repositories and their contents.

Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies (ROARMAP) openURL
ROARMAP is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders.
Repository 66 Map openURL
Repository 66 Map is a map of open access repositories. It shows worldwide open access digital repositories using data from ROAR and OpenDOAR.
SCOAP3 Repository openURL
Hosts open access articles published under the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3).

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Bioline International Some full text availableopenURL
Provides open access to quality research journals published in developing countries on biodiversity, environment, conservation and international development.
BioMed Central (BMC) Some full text availableopenURL
BioMed Central is an Open Access (OA) publisher and few of their journals cover Neurobiology, Neuroscience, Neurology and Psychiatry topics.
BMJ Open Some full text availableopenURL
An online open access journal dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.
HighWire openURL
This is a largest archive of free full-text article and also publishing platform for eBooks, journals, proceedings etc.
PLoS Journals Some full text availableopenURL
A nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.

INDIAN OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS

Indian Open Journals
Some of the major Indian publishers, who are offering their entire range of journals under open access To browse list of Indian Open Access Journals click here

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

INDIAN OPEN ACCESS REPOSITORIES

OPEN RESEARCH DATA REPOSITORY

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

EBSCO Open Dissertations
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Some full text availableopenURL
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Free Patent Database
Here are the set of database and search engines providing access to search and retrieve patents.

STANDARD SOURCES

Open Geospatial Consortium openURL
OGC(R) standards are technical documents that detail interfaces or encodings. Software developers use these documents to build open interfaces and encodings into their products and services.
Public Safety Standards of the Republic of India Some full text availableopenURL
Public.resource.org is open standards & codes on public safety, world trade and world peace on a noncommercial basis.
To browse the detailed Standards Resource Guide click here

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

OPEN COURSEWARE

VIDEO SOURCES

TeacherTube openURL Resource contains video
TeacherTube is a free instructional and educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs shared by the teachers.

PARTIAL OPEN ACCESS

Commercial Publishers
List of commercial publishers who are offering publication of open access articles in their selected Journals.

OPEN EDUCATIONAL LEARNING RESOURCES

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
The MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) Repository provides access to a curated Open Access online collection of Open Educational Resources (OER) that includes learning and support materials and learning objects. It is a database of metadata that describe: 1) all the learning materials, including 1,500 learning exercises (the total number of materials is more than 80,000); and 2) the profiles of registered MERLOT Members (more than 155,000). The content creation tools (ePortfolio, learning materials), as well as personal spaces (Bookmark Collections, Voices ‐ a community networking site) are integrated on the same platform. Together, these resources create an open, content-rich, flexible and collaborative environment for learners, educators, and researchers and offer a highly cost-effective approach to supporting instruction and learning processes. 

STRONG OPEN ACCESS SUPPORTER

Jeffrey Beall
About: Jeffrey Beall is the Scholarly Communications Librarian at Auraria Library. His work involves informing the library, including open-access publishing, author and publisher misconduct, and scholarly publishing ethics.
Resource sites:
http://www.mdpi.com/about/announcements/534
Video Lectures click here 
Scholarly Profile click here 
John Willinsky
About: John Willinsky is Pacific Press Professor of Literacy and Technology at the University of British Columbia. He is the author of Empire of Words: The Reign of the OED and a developer of Open Journals Systems software.
Resource sites:
http://thefutureofprint.blogspot.in/2013/04/author-profile-john-willinsky.html
http://mitpress.mit.edu/books/access-principle
Video Lecture click here 
Scholarly Profile click here 
Peter Suber

About: Peter Dain Suber  is a philosopher specializing in the philosophy of law and open access to knowledge. He is Director of the Office for Scholarly Communication Office at Harvard and Harvard Open Access Project, a Faculty Fellow at SPARC.
Resource sites:
http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/~psuber/wiki/Writings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nWuF7ZVG0w
Scholarly profile click here 


Richard Poynder
About: Richard Poynder has been observing and reporting on the evolution of the Open Access (OA) movement. He takes a particular in interest in the Open Access movement. 
Resource sites:
http://www.richardpoynder.co.uk/Helene_Bosc_Interview.pdf
http://richardpoynder.co.uk/the-state-of-open-access.html
Scholarly Profile click here 
Stevan Harnad
About: Stevan Harnad is a cognitive scientist based at the Université du Québec à Montréal. He is also one of the leading lights of the Open Access (OA) Movement, and a self-styled "archivangelist". 
Resource sites:
http://poynder.blogspot.in/2007/07/oa-interviews-stevan-harnad.html
http://vimeo.com/harnad
Video Lecture on Open Acess click here