Library | Resource Guides | Mechanical Engineering
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Citation Style
Search Engines(Scholarly)
Social Networks(Academic)
Mechanical Engineering
Welcome to the Subject Resource Guide on Mechanical Engineering!

This resource guide serves as window to scholarly resources in the area of Mechanical Engineering. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions.
IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC

 

 

 

All Items by Source
A-Z E-JOURNALS
BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES
DISCUSSION FORUMS
E-PRINT ARCHIVES
ELECTRONIC BOOKS
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
HANDBOOKS
NEWSLETTERS
ONLINE PATENT DATABASE
OPEN COURSEWARE
OPEN TEXTBOOKS
PROFESSIONAL BODIES
RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES
RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY
STANDARDS AND CODES
TECHNICAL REPORTS
THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
VIDEO SOURCES

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Mechanical Engineering
Print Location: Library Books Stack Area Restricted Resource
Library has sizable collection of books and reading materials in the areas of Mathematics and related subjects. These books are classified under following major Class Numbers:             
  • 620.1                     :Engineering Mechanics and Materials
  • 620.10                   :Fluid Mechanics/Solid Mechanics
  • 620.103                 :Applied Fluid Statics
  • 620.105                 :Applied Solid Mechanics
  • 620.106                 :Applied Fluid Mechanics
  • 620.107                 :Applied Gas Mechanics
  • 620.11                   :Composite Materials
  • 620.110                 :Engineering Materials
  • 620.16                   :Mechanical Metallurgy
  • 620.2                     :Acoustical Engineering
  • 620.3                     :Mechanical Control
  • 620.3                     :Mechanical Vibration
  • 620.4                     :Surface Engineering
  • 620.5                     :Nanotechnology
  • 620.8                     :Human Factors and Safety Engineering
  • 621                        :Mechanical Engineering
  • 621.1                     :Steam Engineering
  • 621.2                     :Hydraulic-Power Technology
  • 621.40                   :Heat Transfer
  • 621.42                   :Manufacturing Technology
  • 621.81                   :Mechanical Design
  • 621.9                     :Machine Tools
To locate books on Mechanical Engineering, please search in   Library Online Catalogue
Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. These collections are organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list:-
  • For CDs that come along with Books, you may visit here.
  • For DVDs, you may visit here.

Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks on Mechanical Engineering
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource
  • ASM International. (1990). ASM handbook, Vol. I - 34 (Includes all sections) (10th ed). ASM International.
    • Call No: 620.16 ASM               Acc. No:023533 – 023567, 023562
     
  • Bloch, H. P., & Budris, A. R. (2014). Pump user’s handbook: Life extension (4th ed). Fairmont Press, Inc.
    • Call No: 621.69 BLO                Acc. No:027826
     
  • Gad-el-Hak, M. (2005). The MEMS handbook: Design and fabrication (2nd ed). CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621.381 GAD             Acc. No:010845
     
  • Gad-el-Hak, M. (2006a). MEMS: Applications: the MEMS handbook (2nd ed). CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621.381 GAD             Acc. No:010844
     
  • Gad-el-Hak, M. (2006b). MEMS: Introduction and fundamentals: the MEMS handbook. CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621.381 GAD             Acc. No:010846
     
  • Kok, K. D. (2009). Nuclear engineering handbook. CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621.48 KOK                Acc. No:004070
     
  • Kreith, F., & Goswami, D. Y. (2005). CRC Handbook of mechanical engineering (2nd ed). CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621 KRE                     Acc. No:004055
     
  • Kreith, F., & Goswami, D. Y. (2007a). Energy management and conservation handbook. CRC Press.
    • Call No: 621.042 KRE             Acc. No:004528
     
  • Kreith, F., & Goswami, D. Y. (2007b). Handbook of energy efficiency and renewable energy. CRC Press.
    • Call No: 333.79 KRE                Acc. No:007682
     
  • Kuppan, T. (2000). Heat exchanger design handbook. Marcel Dekker.
    • Call No: 621.4025 KUP            Acc. No: 004536 & 008113
     

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedias on Mechanical Engineering openURL
Encyclopedias are general and comprehensive sources from which collection of information regarding any particular field is possible

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Electronic Books Some full text availableopenURL
These are the electronic books freely accessiable

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

Bibliographic Databases Restricted Resource

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Electronic Journals Restricted Resource
Here the list of print and electronic journals from which state-of-art research projects and articles can be acquired with a subscription or in some cases as open source.

Following are some of the print journals Following are major E-journals

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

ArXiv.org openURL
aiXra.org is an alternative e-print archive to the arXiv.org. It contains over 6000 plus e-prints in Arts and Humanities includes Archaeology.
engrXiv openURL
It's one of open archive of engineering on various disciplines.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.
Open Textbook Library Some full text availableopenURL
Open Textbook Library hosted by the University of Minnesota. It covers over 160 college-level textbooks with an emphasis on Science and related fields.

STANDARDS AND CODES

Standards and Codes openURL

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Thesis and Dissertations
Library preserves one copy each (print & electronic) of every M. Tech. dissertation and PhD thesis submitted to the Institute. You may access these through library OPAC & Digital Repository.

Following Theses are freely available

TECHNICAL REPORTS

Technical Reports openURL
Technical report is a document written by a researcher detailing the results of a project and submitted to the sponsor of that project." TRs are not peer-reviewed unless they are subsequently published in a peer-review journal.

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Online Patent Database openURL

NEWSLETTERS

Newsletters Restricted Resource

OPEN COURSEWARE

Open Coursewares on Mechanical Engineering openURL
Following are some of the popular course wares in the field of Mechanical Engineering
 
International: National: 

VIDEO SOURCES

Open Access Video Resources openURL
Some major video sources and teaching platforms to enhance the quality of engineering education by providing free online courseware are given below,

DISCUSSION FORUMS

Discussion Forums on ME openURL
Discussion forums are an effective and helpful domain in facilitating and troubleshooting the concerns of people of different proficiency in the field.

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

Professional Bodies on Mechanical Engineering
The following are some professional bodies on Mechanical Engineering
National International 

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

Research Funding Agency
A selected list of funding agencies from India