Library | Resource Guides | Mathematics & Statistics
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Writing, Typesetting & Markup Tools
Calculators & Other Tools
Citation Style
Reference Management Software
Social Networks
Mathematics
Welcome to Subject Resource Guide on Mathematics & Statistics!

This resource guide serves as gateway to scholarly resources in the area of Mathematics & Statistics. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated
from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions.
IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC

 

 

 

All Items by Source
AWARDS
BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES
CONFERENCES
DICTIONARIES
DIGITAL LIBRARIES
DISCUSSION FORUMS
E-PRINT ARCHIVES
ELECTRONIC BOOKS
ELECTRONIC JOURNALS
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
MATHEMATICIANS
Mathematics Functions and Formula
OPEN COURSEWARE
OPEN TEXTBOOKS
PROFESSIONAL BODIES
RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES
RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY
SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)
SOFTWARES
TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)
THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
VIDEO SOURCES

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Mathematics
Print Location: Library Books Stack Area Restricted Resource
Library has sizable collection of books and reading materials in the areas of Mathematics and related subjects. These books are classified under following major Class Numbers:
  • 510                  Mathematics
  • 510.24             Mathematical Logic
  • 511                  General Principles of Mathematics
  • 511.5               Graph Theory
  • 511.6               Combinatorics (Combinatorial Analysis)
  • 512                  Algebra
  • 512.5               Linear Algebra
  • 512.7               Number Theory
  • 512.9               Foundations of Algebra
  • 513                  Arithmetic
  • 514                  Topology
  • 514.2               Algebraic Topology
  • 515                  Analysis
  • 515.3               Differential Calculus and Equations
  • 515.35             Differential Equations
  • 515.353           Partial Differential Equations
  • 516                  Geometry
  • 518                  Numerical Analysis
  • 518.4               Numerical Methods in Algebra, Arithmetic, Number Theory
  • 519                  Probabilities and Applied Mathematics ( Statistics)
  • 519.2               Probabilities
  • 519.3               Game Theory
 
To locate books on Mathematics, please search in   Library Online Catalogue
Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. These collections are organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list:-
  • For CDs that come along with Books, you may visit here.
  • For DVDs, you may visit here.

Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here

DICTIONARIES

Dictionaries
Engineering Dictionary covers thousands of definitions of engineering terms and phrases encountered in a range of related fields.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedias on Mathematics

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

ELECTRONIC BOOKS Some full text availableopenURL
  • B-ok.org
    An online library which provides e-book on various disciplines.
  • DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
    Provides an access to over 3000 e-books covering almost all disciplines including Mathematics and statistics
  • E- Mathematics
    E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of links to freely accessible ebooks, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library
    A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to good number of e-books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
  • Internet Archive  
    Provides free access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
  • Million Book Project  
    Provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
  • Project Gutenberg Mathematics Books
    Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks.
  • World eBook Library
    An academic research database of portable e-books considered as a largest collection of eBooks.
  • B-ok.org
    An online library which provides e-book on various disciplines.
  • DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
    Provides an access to over 3000 e-books covering almost all disciplines including Mathematics and statistics
  • E- Mathematics
    E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of links to freely accessible ebooks, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library
    A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to good number of e-books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
  • Internet Archive  
    Provides free access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
  • Million Book Project  
    Provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
  • Project Gutenberg Mathematics Books
    Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks.
  • World eBook Library
    An academic research database of portable e-books considered as a largest collection of eBooks.

Electronic Books Some full text availableopenURL
These are the electronic books freely accessiable

DIGITAL LIBRARIES

Digital Libraries on Mathematics Subject

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

Bibliographic Databases Restricted Resource

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Google Scholar openURL
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.
JURN openURL
Jurn is a free-to-use online search tool for finding and downloading free full-text scholarly works in various fields.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.
zbMATH
zbMATH provides article search based on Author names, title, formula etc.

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Electronic Journals Restricted Resource

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

ArXiv.org openURL
aiXra.org is an alternative e-print archive to the arXiv.org. It contains over 6000 plus e-prints in Arts and Humanities includes Archaeology.
OSF Preprints
Serves as one point access to over 2200000 covering every major discipline.

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

American Institute of Mathematics
American Institute of Mathematics maintains a list of approved open-source textbooks. The list groups open textbooks by course title.
College Open Textbook
Wide variety of open access textbooks in mathematics' disciplines.
Open Textbook Library Some full text availableopenURL
Open Textbook Library hosted by the University of Minnesota. It covers over 160 college-level textbooks with an emphasis on Science and related fields.
Openculture
Free textbooks (aka open textbooks) written by knowledgeable scholars are a relatively new phenomenon.
OpenStax Math Textbooks
Open textbooks for introductory statistics, calculus, algebra, pre-algebra, and trigonometry.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Australian University Theses & Dissertations openURL
Australian University Theses & Dissertations are available under platform of Trove which serves as one point access to over 9,91,000 theses and dissertations.
Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK) Some full text availableopenURL
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Some full text availableopenURL
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.
Theses Canada openURL
Theses Canada is a central access point for theses submitted to Canadian universities. It holds over 3 lakh theses from 70 universities in both electronic and print formats.

OPEN COURSEWARE

Open Courseware on Mathematics
National International

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth openURL Resource contains video
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.
Mathtube.org
It is a new multimedia resource hosted by the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences. mathtube.org gives users easy access to mathematical seminar and lecture materials including videos notes and slides.

DISCUSSION FORUMS

Discussion forums on Mathematics

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

Professional Bodies in Mathematical Area
National  International To see the chronological list of Mathematics Societies click here
 

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

Research Funding Agencies in Mathematical Area
Selected list of funding agencies:

CONFERENCES

Conferences in Mathematical Area
Selected list of Conferences on Mathematics:

AWARDS

Awards in Mathematics

Mathematics Functions and Formula

Functions and Formula

MATHEMATICIANS

Known Mathematicians
Here is the list of some more Biographies and Mathematicians.

SOFTWARES

Softwares