Library | Resource Guides | Chemistry
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Reference Management Software
Chemistry
Welcome to Subject Resource
This resource guide serves as window to scholarly resources in the area of Chemistry. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web. It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point. We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions.
IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC

 

 

 

All Items by Source

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. This collection is organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list, you may visit here.

BOOKS AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Chemistry
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource
Library has sizable collection of books and reading material on Chemistry subject. These books are classified under following Class Numbers:
  • 540      : Chemistry and allied sciences
  • 541.3   : Physical chemistry
  • 543      : Analytical chemistry
  • 545      : Quantitative chemical snalysis
  • 546      : Inorganic chemistry
  • 547      : Organic chemistry
  • 548      : Crystallography
  • 549      : Mineralogy

  • To locate the books on Chemistry, please search in  Library Online Catalogue 
  • To browse the bibliography (list) of books on Chemistry Click here

REFERENCE BOOKS

Reference Books on Chemistry
Print Location: Library Stock Area
  • Larock, Richard C. (Ed.). (1999). Comprehensive organic transformations : a guide to functional group preparations. New York: Wiley-VCH Verlag.
    Acc. No.: 003660                                      Call No.:547.2 LAR
     
  • Lavoisier, Antoine Laurent, (1965). Elements of chemistry : in a new systematic order, containing all the modern discoveries. New York:Dover Publication.
    Acc. No.: 000944                                      Call No.:540 LAV
     
  • Lide, David R. (1998). CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. Boca Raton: CRC Press.
    Acc. No.: 000355                                      Call No.:540.212 LID
     
  • Shakhahiri, Bassam Z. (1983). Chemical demonstrations: handbook for teachers of chemistry. Wisconsin: University of Wisconsin Press.
    Acc. No.: 000810-000813                         Call No.: 540.78 SHA
     
  • Vincent, John B. (2009). Laboratory manual for chemistry: a molecular approach. Upper Saddle River: Pearson Printice Hall.
    Acc. No.: 007144                                      Call No.:542.22 RAO

DICTIONARIES

Online Dictionaries
  • Chemicool
    An online comprehensive periodic table, it contains a detailed information about different elements of periodic table. Also gives general information like elements, its states, energies, oxidation and electrons, appearance and characteristics, reactions, form radius, conductivity and abundance.
  • Chemistry-Dictionary
    Contains over 1,800 chemistry terms and definitions and also maintains the periodical tables.
  • ChEBI
    A freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Print Location: Library Stock Area
  • O`Neil, M. ed., (2006). Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. NJ: Whitehouse Station
    Acc. No.: 007029                                       Call No.:615.103 ONE
  • Kirk, R. E. ed., (2006). Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, Index to Volumes 1 - 26 (5th ed.). Hoboken: Wiley-Interscience
    Acc. No.: 000583-000609                            Call No.:660.03 KIR

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text availableopenURL
Provides an access to over 3000 e-books from more than 100 well-known publishers covering almost all disciplines.
E-Books Directory Some full text availableopenURL
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Internet Archive Some full text availableopenURL
Internet Archive is nonprofit digital library providing the free public access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
Million Book Project Some full text availableopenURL
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
Project Gutenberg Some full text availableopenURL
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free e-pub format books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

ChemSynthesis openURL
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Crystallography Open Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
RSC Databases Restricted Resource
RSC databases provide high quality chemical information for chemistry academics, professionals and students.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
A research discovery tool that allows access to the world most comprehensive literature in Chemistry and allied  disciplines published by Chemical Abstract Service (ACS).

PATENT DATABASE (FREE)

SureChem Some full text availableopenURL
SureChEMBL is the free patent database on chemistry, launched by European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI).  It provides access to over 15 million chemical structures, and US, EP and WO patents, and Japan patent abstracts, from 1976 to present.

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

CiteSeerX openURL
CiteSeerX is scientific literature search engine which indexes over 1.5 million documents and 30 million citations.
CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Google Scholar openURL
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.
Online Journals Search Engine openURL
OJOSE is a free powerful scientific search engine enabling you to make search-queries in different databases by using only 1 search field. With OJOSE you can find, download or buy scientific publications (journals, articles, research reports, books, etc.) in up to 60 different databases.
SciSeek openURL
SciSeek is the oldest and most comprehensive science search engine on the Internet.
WWW Chemistry Guide openURL
A directory and search engine of chemistry related resources on the Internet.

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Restricted Resource
ACS is the leading publisher of 30 + peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation. This collection includes legacy archive for journals.
ChemWeb Restricted Resource Some full text available
ChemWeb provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines.
Oxford University Press Journal Restricted Resource
Oxford University Press Journal Collection covers over 262 titles encompassing Humanities, Law, Life Science, Mathematics & Physical Science (Engg.), Medicine and Social Sciences. This collection includes journals in the area of Chemistry and related subjects.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals Restricted Resource
RSC, a Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals. Library has access to current collection of journals and back volumnes of last few years.

A-Z LIST OF E-JOURNALS

SciVerse ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a platform which hosts publications of Elsevier & associates and is a leading full-text database offering journal articles, e-books etc.  Library subscribes to selected list of core titles falling under five major subject collections i.e.: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Physics and Astronomy.
Springer Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.
A to Z E-Journals Restricted Resource

This is a comprehensive list of e-journals on Chemistry & related subjects subscribed by the Library.

  • To download the list of E-Journals on Chemistry click here
  • To browse the complete A to Z  E-Journals List click here
  • To browse the complete list of E-resources on Chemistry subject e-Resources

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

e-Crystals
Information contained in this archive is all the underlying data generated during the course of a structure determination from a single crystal x-ray diffraction experiment.

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

Boundless: Chemistry Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Boundless.com offers the textbooks and readding materials on chemistry.
College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
Open Textbook Library Some full text availableopenURL
Open Textbook Library hosted by the University of Minnesota. It covers over 160 college-level textbooks with an emphasis on Science and related fields.
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry
Virtual textbook of organic chemistry provides fully operational organic chemistry textbook, divided into the two overarching topics of General Principles and Functional Group Reactions.

CHEMICAL STRUCTURE DATABASE

canSAR database
A free, public cancer focused knowledgebase. It brings together biological, chemical, pharmacological and disease data, distills them and makes them accessible to cancer research scientists from all disciplines to support translational research and drug discovery.
ChemExper
A chemical directory to listing information about chemicals. It contains over 200,000 different chemicals, 10,000 material safety data sheet and over 10,000 IR spectra.
Chemicalize.org
A free chemical structure miner and web search engine developed and owned by ChemAxon.
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 58 million structures from hundreds of data sources. It is published by Royal Society of Chemistry.
ChemTube3D
Contains interactive 3D animations and structures for most of the important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree
eMolecules
A chemistry search engine. Draw or enter a systematic, standard, brand, or chemical name, and eMolecules quickly searches over 6,000,000 substances.
PubChem openURL
A database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. PubChem can be accessed for free through a web user interface. 
ZINC
A free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening. ZINC contains over 35 million purchasable compounds in ready-to-dock and 3D format.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK) Some full text availableopenURL
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.
IndCat : Online Catalogue of Theses openURL
It is an Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Some full text availableopenURL
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Free Patent Database
Here are the set of database and search engines providing access to search and retrieve patents.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

Analytical Sciences Digital Library
Analytical Sciences Digital Library collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences.
Chemdex
Chemdex is a directory of chemistry resources available on the internet. It covers university departments, learning resources, societies, people etc.
Organic Chemistry
The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
Organic Chemistry Subject Gateway
It facilitates the users in searching books, articles, navigate to the specific database and services. It also provides comprehensive list of organic chemistry institution ,journals, curriculum structure and other important website in organic chemistry.
Organic Syntheses
Organic Syntheses (OrgSyn) provides detailed and reliable information about the procedures of synthesis of organic compounds.
WorldWideScience
Use WorldWideScience.org as a global science gateway, offering excellent search results in the sciences related field.

OPEN COURSEWARE

Learn Chemistry
LearnChem.net is a free resource tutorials on chemistry & available for all chemistry students for those for those seeking tutorials, tests and general information into basic chemistry.

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth openURL Resource contains video
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.
Free Video Lecture: Chemistry
This is a comprehensive video collection which focus upon organic photochemistry, freshman organic chemistry, organometallic chemistry and more.
NPTEL Resource contains videoopenURL
NPTEL provides E-learning through online-web and video courses. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware.
TeacherTube openURL Resource contains video
TeacherTube is a free instructional and educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs shared by the teachers.
YouTube Lectures: Chemistry
YouTube provides the best lecture series videos in Chemistry discipline.

BLOGS

ChemBark
News, analysis, and commentary on the world of chemical research. A blog written and maintained by Paul Bracher.
ChemConnector Blog
The blog of Antony Williams, now a computational chemist, who has authored more than a 150 scientific publications, book chapters and books, and hundreds of public presentations.
Chemical blogspace
Collects data from hundreds of scientific chemistry blogs and presents this data in an usable way.
Compound Interest
Assembled by Andy Brunning this site takes a close look at the chemical substances we come across on a day-to-day basis.

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

CONFERENCES

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

AWARDS

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

ACS Network
Professional networking tool for the global chemistry community, hosted by ACS.
LinkedIn openURL
LinkedIn is the world's largest professional network with 300 million members in over 200 countries and territories around the globe.
Mendeley openURL
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network.
ResearchGate openURL
Advance your research, discover scientific knowledge, and make your research visible.

SOFTWARES