Library | Resource Guides | Biological Sciences & Engineering
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

News Services
Biological Sciences & Engineering
Welcome to the subject Resource Guide on Biological Sciences & Engineering!

This resource guide serves as window to scholarly resources in the area of Biological Sciences & Engineering. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions.
IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC
 
All Items by Source

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource

Library has sizable collection of books and reading materials on Biological Engineering and most of these materials are classified under the following Class Numbers:

  • 570 : Biological Science
  • 571.6 : Cell Biology
  • 572 : Biochemistry
  • 576 : Genetics & Evaluation
  • 577 : Ecology
  • 610 : Medicine and Health
  • 610.28 : Medical & Biological Engineering
  • 611 : Human Anatomy, Cytology & Histology
  • 612.8 : Neuroscience
  • 613 : Personal Health and Safety
  • 614 : Incidence & prevention of disease
  • 616 : Diseases
  • 620.8 Biological and Engineering

  • To Locate the books on Biological Sciences & Engineering available in Library, we are encourage users to search into Library Online Catalog.
  • To browse the list of books bibliography on Biological Sciences & Engineering which are currently available in Library user may click here.

Reference Books
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • To browse the list of reference materials bibliography on Biological Engineering, user may click here.

DICTIONARIES

Biology-Online Dictionary openURL

This is a completely open and editable dictionary which utilizes a WiKi concept, so that everybody can make a contribution.

Molecular Biology Glossary openURL
A quick guide for definitions on molecular biology terms.
Online Biology Dictionary openURL
Free dictionary that provides definition for terms in biology and medicine.
Pearson (phschool.com) openURL
Glossary of Biological terms provides a collection of over 1000 biological terms and definitions.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Bio reference openURL
Explains biological concepts in hundreds of illustrated articles arranged alphabetically
Encyclopedia of biology openURL
The site provide free download facility to the encyclopedia of biology.
Encyclopedia of Life openURL
Provides information about all living species on Earth and includes images, text, videos, maps, and more.
Encyclopedia.com-Biology openURL
Offers information on biology and other related topics, such as genetics, plants and animals, and cell biology.

PRINT JOURNALS

Journals and Magazines
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available

Library subscribes to the following collection of journals & magazines in print in the area of Physics and these are displayed in periodical section of the Library.


ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Archive.org Some full text availableopenURL
Digitized books from many different libraries from the Google Book Search program. These digital files have been downloaded from the Google site and uploaded to the Internet Archive by users.
Biology books online Some full text availableopenURL
These biology books are designed to allow students and all biology enthusiasts to gain insights into subjects such as kinetics, cancer biology or clinical biochemistry.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Project Gutenberg Some full text availableopenURL
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free e-pub format books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

CHBD openURL
CHBD is a free electronic database of abstracts, citations, geographic and subject indexing, library codes and their links to full text publications, both peer-reviewed and gray literature.
PubMed openURL
It is a database primarily of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.
RSC ChemSpider openURL
ChemSpider is a free database of chemical structure which is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).
SciFinder Restricted Resource
A research discovery tool that allows access to the world most comprehensive literature in Chemistry and allied  disciplines published by Chemical Abstract Service (ACS).

ATLAS

Allen Brain Atlas openURL
A detailed atlas of gene expression across mouse brain development.
Atlas of the developing mouse brain openURL
Includes accurate and detailed depiction of all brain structures at various fetal stages.
Human Epigenome Atlas openURL
A collection of normal epigenomes of different tissues including histone modifications, DNA methylation, chromatin accessibility, gene expression, and small RNA expression.
Human Protein Atlas (HPA) openURL
This program is a scientific research program with the goal to explore the whole human proteome using an antibody-based approach.
Sylvius 4 Online openURL
An Interactive Atlas and Visual Glossary of Human Neuroanatomy.
The Cancer Genome Atlas openURL
Explores the entire spectrum of genomic changes involved in human cancers.

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

Academic Index openURL
Academic Index is a meta-search tool that includes results from mega-information databases which indexes only research quality reference and information sources.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine openURL
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine is a multi-disciplinary search engine to scholarly internet resources.
BioGPS openURL
Integrate results from multiple data sources for your gene of interest.
BioMedSearch openURL
BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, a large collection and it one of the most comprehensive and powerful free biomedical searches.
CiteSeerX openURL
CiteSeerX is scientific literature search engine which indexes over 1.5 million documents and 30 million citations.
CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Google Scholar openURL
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.
JURN openURL
Jurn is a free-to-use online search tool for finding and downloading free full-text scholarly works in various fields.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.
Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE): openURL
The Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) service covers free, full text, quality controlled journals. We aim to cover journals in all subjects that are published in English language.
Vadlo openURL
Biology and medical search engine and biology research cartoons.

OPEN ACCESS DIRECTORIES

BioMedical Engineering OnLine openURL
BioMedical Engineering OnLine is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that is dedicated to publishing research in all areas of biomedical engineering.

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

American Society for Microbiology(ASM) Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
ASM journals are the most prominent publications, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. They are considered as invaluable source for the latest research in microbiology. Library subscribes to complete set of journals.
Bioline International Some full text availableopenURL
Provides open access to quality research journals published in developing countries on biodiversity, environment, conservation and international development.
BioMed Central (BMC) Some full text availableopenURL
BioMed Central is an Open Access (OA) publisher and few of their journals cover Neurobiology, Neuroscience, Neurology and Psychiatry topics.
CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database openURL
EBI Web Production, The EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database constitutes Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource.
Ensembl openURL
It provides a centralized resource for geneticists, molecular biologists and other researchers studying the genomes.
European Bioinformatics Institute EMBL-EBI openURL
It provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology.
Golm Metabolome Database openURL
Golm Metabolome Database (GMD) is a gas chromatography (GC) – mass spectrometry (MS) reference library.
JSTOR Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR collection archives and provides access to archival of more than 3000 scholarly journals across more than 40 academic disciplines from 800+ publishers.Click here for accessing JSTOR Daily.
National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) openURL
It is a U.S. government-funded national resource for molecular biology information. Access to many public and other references.
PLoS Journals Some full text availableopenURL
A nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

A-Z LIST OF E-JOURNALS

Springer Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics
E-Journals on Biological Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a comprehensive list of E-Journals on Biological Science and Engineering subscribed by the Library and is arranged in alphabetical order.

To download the list of E-Journals on Biological Sciences and Engineering click here.

To browse the A to Z  E-Journals Lists click here.

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text database offering journal articles from peer reviewed journals which is published by Elsevier.Library  has subscription to set up core titles and tiles falling under five subjects viz E-SodhSindu.

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

Archives of Biological Sciences openURL
The ABS is a multidisciplinary journal that covers original research in a wide range of subjects in life science, including biology, ecology, human biology and biomedical research.
arXiv.org openURL
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
BioRxiv openURL
The preprint server for biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a research and educational institution.
CogPrints Some full text availableopenURL
CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in the area of Psychology, Neuroscience, Biology, Linguistics, and Computer Science.

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
Open Textbook Library Some full text availableopenURL
Open Textbook Library hosted by the University of Minnesota. It covers over 160 college-level textbooks with an emphasis on Science and related fields.

UNION CATALOGUES

Copac openURL
It is a union catalogue which provides free access to the merged online catalogues of many major research libraries and specialist libraries in UK.
IndCat openURL
It is unified Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
WorldCat openURL
It is a unified catalog of member libraries' catalogs.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Dissertations and Theses in Biological Sciences openURL
It offers the dissertation and Thesis in Biological Sciences.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) openURL
It is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, use, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations(OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Espacenet openURL
EspacenetSearch for European, US, PCT, Japanese and other worldwide patents.
Free Patents Online openURL
Free Patents Online Covers patents and applications from USPTO, EPO, WIPO and JPL abstracts.
Global Patent Search Network openURL
This GPSN provides access to U.S and Chinese patent documents in English or Chinese from 2008 to 2011.
IP India Patent Database openURL
Using this database, one can search Indian patents and apply for a patent in India.
MCPaIRS openURL
MCPaIRS is a pioneering Indian Patent Database that addresses the need of having a searchable, enriched, and indexed full text Patents published from India.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

Biology Virtual Library openURL
Search major biology journal and book databases and other sources simultaneously.
Molecular Biology Gateway openURL
It gives access to web resources for molecular biology, genetics, microbiology, and biochemistry.
Science.gov openURL
It is a catalogue of US Government science and technology websites.
The Virtual Library of Biology (JCS) openURL
This portal offers rapid access to biological literature and information. Search numerous catalogues, databases, journals and Internet resources.

OPEN COURSEWARE

e-PG Pathshala openURL
e-PG Pathshala content and its quality is key component of higher education system in 77 subjects at postgraduate level.
EdX openURL
Found by Harvard University and MIT, offering courses from world’s best universities and institutions.
Khan Academy openURL Resource contains video
Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and personalized dashboard that allow learners to study at their own pace.
MIT Open courseware: Biological Engineering openURL
MIT is a leader in the field of biological engineering, engaging in visionary research and collaborations with industry and government.
Open CourseWare openURL
Offers free courses in Biological Engineering.
Open Yale Courses: Biomedical Engineering openURL
Open Yale courses are free online to all community and offers courses on various topics, including biomedical engineering.

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth openURL Resource contains video
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.
Ibiology Resource contains videoopenURL
iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made.
LearnersTV: BIology Resource contains videoopenURL
Learnerstv.com is a comprehensive site providing thousands of downloadable Video lectures, Live Online Tests, etc.
NPTEL Resource contains videoopenURL
NPTEL provides E-learning through online-web and video courses. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware.

IMAGE SOURCES

Integrative Biology Images openURL Resource contains images
The site provides links and more then images to understand the user and students. All the images used for the homepage slideshow.
Rbi images openURL Resource contains images
This is a collection of images and information about biological inventories.
School of Biological Sciences: IMAGE GALLERY openURL Resource contains images
The school of biological sciences provides some biological images.

DISCUSSION FORUMS

Bio techniques Molecular Biology Techniques Forum
It is a bio techniques based discussion forum for questions pertaining to methods and protocols in biotechnology.

BLOGS

Biology Online blog openURL
Biology-Online.org is run by enthusiasts from all around the world and visited by over 25,000 people every day.
Extreme Biology openURL
Extreme Biology is a blog written by Stacy Baker and her high school biology students.  It began in 2005 and was originally called, Miss Baker’s Biology Class Blog.
PLOS blogs openURL
The Public Library on Science (PLOS) is a non-profit publisher and advocacy organisation on a mission to lead a transformation on research communication.
Royal Society of Biology blog openURL
This blog has been advising the government and advancement in education and professional development is the prime motive.
SA Blogs openURL
Scientific American Blog Network, a forum for a diverse and independent set of voices to share news and opinions and discuss issues related to science.

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

Professional Bodies on Biological Engineering
The National and International Professional Bodies in Biological Engineering listed below.
 
National   International

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

AWARDS

Scholarships & Awards BS-UM

The Division of Biological Sciences recognizes academic achievement with a number of endowed awards and scholarships.

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

Academia.edu openURL
Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers.
LinkedIn openURL
LinkedIn is the world's largest professional network with 300 million members in over 200 countries and territories around the globe.
Mendeley openURL
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network.
My Science Work openURL
Provides digital promotion platform for research called Polaris and also promotes easy access to scientific publication.
ResearchGate openURL
Advance your research, discover scientific knowledge, and make your research visible.
Scitable by nature education openURL
Scitable is a free online teaching/learning portal combining high quality educational articles with technology-based community features.
Twitter openURL
Twitter helps you create and share ideas and information instantly, without barriers. Twitter is the best way to connect with people, express yourself and discover what's happening.

ONLINE TUTORIALS AND VIDEOS

Biological video lacture/tutorials Resource contains videoopenURL
Our video lectures will make you an expert in the area of biotechnology and you will be better equipped to understand the dynamics of this field of science.
Biology-online.org openURL Resource contains video
Provides tutorial on various topics of biology to promote understanding of biology.
iBiology openURL Resource contains video
Provides free online biology videos by world’s leading scientists.

SOFTWARES

bio-soft
Bioinformatics Software’s and tools free download database.
Seqool
Seqool is a free (for educational use) sequence analysis software designed primarily for searching biological signals in nucleic acid sequences.
Yasara
YASARA is a molecular-graphics, -modeling and -simulation program for Windows, Linux, Mac OS X and Android developed since 1993, that finally makes it really easy to answer your questions.

WELL-KNOWN BIOLOGISTS

Biological Scientist openURL
You can find some famous scientist on Biology.