Archaeological Science

• Archaeological Site Museums (ASI)
• Harappa
• World Heritage Sites

• Aihole, Karnataka
• Badami, Karnataka
• Bhagatrav, Gujarat
• Bodhgaya, Bihar
• Buddhist Monuments Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh
• Champaner-Pavagadh, Gujarat
• Dholavira, Kutch  
• Dwarka, Gujarat
• Gola Dhoro, Gujarat
• Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
• Hampi, Karnataka
• Loteshwar, Gujarat
• Lothal, Gujarat
• Konarak, Orissa
• Kondapur, Andhra Pradesh
• Nalanda, Bihar
• Polo Monuments
• Srirangapatna, Karnataka
• Rani Ki Vav, Gujarat
• Sun Temple, Gujarat
• Vadnagar Toran, Gujarat
• Uparkot Fort, Gujarat

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio files

• Awadhesh Pratap Singh University
• Banaras Hindu University
• Deccan College, Pune
• Delhi Institute of Heritage Research and Management
• Institute of Archaeology, Archaeological Survey of India
• Karnatak University
• M S University Baroda
• Nalanda University
• National Musuem Institute
• Panjab University
• Tamil University, Thanjavur
• University of Allahabad
• University of Calcutta
• University of Kerala
• University of Madras
• University of Mysore
• University of Sagar

• IISER Mohali
• IIT Gandhinagar
• IIT Guwahati

• Archaeology and Other Historical Sources by Mr. Mabbitt
• Great Riddlesin Archaeology: El Dorado in the Americas by Dr. Clark Erickson
• Great Riddles in Archaeology Lecture Series: the Iceman by Dr. Thomas
• Harappan Expertise in Civil Engineering by Prof. Michel Danino
• Meluhha: the Indus Civilization and Its Contacts with Mesopotamia by Mark Kenoyer
• Recent Findings on Indus-Sarasvati Civilization at IIT Kanpur by Prof. Michel Danino
• Sanitation and Water Management in the Indus - Sarasvati Civilization by Prof. Michel Danino
• Secrets of Archaeology: Greek Cities In Italy (Ancient History Documentary)
• The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict and the Coup in Egypt by Norman Finkelstein

• AAA Style Guide
• APA Style (American Psychological Association)
• Chicago Manual of Style
• Australian Archaeology referencing style
• Harvard Citation Style
• Society for American Archaeology Style Guide
• Turabian Style

• Zotero
• Mendeley
• EndNote
• JabRef
• RefWorks

• Archaelogy News
• Sciencedaily
• HeritageDaily
• Archaeology Online
• Alltop
• Irish Archaeology

Welcome to Subject Resource Guide on Archaeological Science!

This resource guide serves as gateway to scholarly resources in the area of Archaeological Science. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and alsoon the web. It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions. 

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books on Archaeological Science
Print Location: Library Stack Area
Library at IIT Gandhinagar has sizable collection of books and reading material on Archaeology and Archaeological Science. These books are classified following under Class Numbers:

 

• 294.50     : Archaeology of Hindu religions
• 543          : Analytical chemistry in archaeology
• 690.09     : Archaeology of measurement
• 778.9934 : Archaeological photography
• 934          : Archaeology
• 954          : Historical archaeology

---

• To locate the books on Archaeology, please search in Library WebOPAC 
• To browse the bibliography ( list) of books on Archaeology Click here 

Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.

DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. These collections are organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list:-

• For CDs that come along with Books, you may visit here.
• For DVDs, you may visit here.

Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here

DICTIONARIES

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

E-Books Directory
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.

Electronic Books
These are the electronic books freely accessiable

• Directory of Open Access Books: DOAB
• e-Book Engineering Core (EBSCO)
• EOLSS - Encyclopedia Life Support Systems (UNESCO)
• GALILEO Open Learning Materials
• HathiTrust Digital Library
• McGraw Hill Access Engineering
• MERLOT
• Million books project
• OAPEN
• Project Gutenberg
• Teaching Commons Open Educational Resources
• The National Academies Press
• UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
• University Press ebooks, Purdue University
• World eBook Library

HathiTrust Digital Library
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is nonprofit digital library providing the free public access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free e-pub format books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Million Book Project
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

AATA Online
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 133,000 abstracts literature related to the preservation and conservation of material on cultural heritage created & updated by Getty Conservation Institute.

Archaeology Data Service

ADS holdings are split between monument inventories and archives and these divisions are now more explicit on the ADS website with separate search mechanisms for each, which should make finding a particular archive collection.

British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
A comprehensive database for archaeologists, students and researchers, containing published references and abstracts from AD 1695 to the present day.

Southeast Asian Archaeology Bibliographic Database
A bibliographic and research database devoted to scholarly research pertaining to Southeast Asian archaeology.

ATLAS

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

CORE: Connecting Repositories
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.

JURN
Jurn is a free-to-use online search tool for finding and downloading free full-text scholarly works in various fields.

Microsoft Academic Search
A public search engine for research papers and literature.

PRINT JOURNALS

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

JSTOR Archives
JSTOR collection archives and provides access to archival of more than 3000 scholarly journals across more than 40 academic disciplines from 800+ publishers.Click here for accessing JSTOR Daily.

ProjectMUSE
This is a collection of journals published by major University Presses in the area of humanities and social science. This collection covers quite a good number of titles dealing with the subject.Read more...

Sage Journals
SAGE is one of the major publishers of journals in the humanities and social sciences areas.  Library subscribes to selected titles and the list is given here. 

A-Z LIST OF E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.

SciVerse ScienceDirect
This is a platform which hosts publications of Elsevier & associates and is a leading full-text database offering journal articles, e-books etc.  Library subscribes to selected list of core titles falling under five major subject collections i.e.: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Physics and Astronomy.

Springer Journals
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics

E-Journals on Archaeology

This is a comprehensive list of e-journals on Archaeology& related subjects subscribed by the Library.

• To download the list of E-Journals on Archaeology click here
• To browse the complete A to Z  E-Journals List click here

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

ArXiv.org
aiXra.org is an alternative e-print archive to the arXiv.org. It contains over 6000 plus e-prints in Arts and Humanities includes Archaeology.

Social Science Research Network
Provides access to wide variety of literature in social science covering from a number of specialized networks including cognitive science, leadership, management, and social insurance. Also covers some amount of literature in the area of archaeology.

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

Open SUNY Textbooks
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Australian University Theses & Dissertations
Australian University Theses & Dissertations are available under platform of Trove which serves as one point access to over 9,91,000 theses and dissertations.

Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK)
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.

PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.

ShodhGanga, India
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.

Theses Canada
Theses Canada is a central access point for theses submitted to Canadian universities. It holds over 3 lakh theses from 70 universities in both electronic and print formats.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

NEWSLETTERS

OPEN COURSEWARE

ONLINE TUTORIALS

Learning Archaeology
Learning Archaeology provides study of Archaeology through online. Using this website user will be able to access online lessons, submit essays, enter into quizzes and get feedback on their work.

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.

TeacherTube
TeacherTube is a free instructional and educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs shared by the teachers.

Archaeology Channel
Archaeology Channel presents a range of media about archaeology (films, news, commentary, interactive programs) and related subjects presented through streaming media by the Oregon-based Archaeological Legacy Institute.

TEDx
TEDx encourages discovering and sharing ideas with others. It has covered 30,000+ videos.

YouTube Lectures

YouTube provides best lecture series videos on Archaeology and cultural heritage in around world.

IMAGE SOURCES

DISCUSSION FORUMS

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

CONFERENCES

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

AWARDS

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

OTHER WEB RESOURCES