Library | Resource Guides | Civil Engineering
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Citations or Reference Management Softwares
Civil Engineering
Welcome to Subject Resource Guide on Civil Engineering!
 

This resource guide serves as gateway to scholarly resources in the area of Civil Engineering and related subjects. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions. 
 

IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC
 
All Items by Source

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource
Library at IIT Gandhinagar has sizable collection of books and reading materials on Civil Engineering and most of these materials are classified under the following Class Numbers
  • 624     Civil Engineering
  • 625     Engineering of Railroads & Roads
  • 627     Water Resources (Hydraulic) Engineering
  • 629     Sanitary Engineering
  • 690     Construction Engineering

  • To locate the books on Civil Engineering available in the Library, please search into Library WebOPAC
  • To browse the selected list of Civil Engineering books, you may click here.

Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. This collection is organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list, you may visit here.
Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here
Reference Books
Print Location: Both wall side of reading area in Library Restricted Resource
Library has sizable collection of Reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuscripts, maps, yearbooks and directories etc. These collections arranged separate wall side (left & right) in reading area of the Library.
  • To browse the list of reference materials on Civil Engineering, user may click here
Technical Standards and Codes
Print Location: Online & Print
Library has subscription to Indian Standard Codes (CD/ROM version) collection in Civil Engineering. This collection is hosted and regularly updated on a separate server accessible on the campus network. To access, visit here.
  • Library also has selected titles of codes in print and shelved along with books. The list is available here.
  • We have also a small collection of MCEER Technical Reports in print and rest all are available freely on web.
Thesis and Dissertations
Library preserves one copy each (print & electronic) of every M. Tech. dissertation and PhD thesis submitted to the Institute. Besides accessing these through library OPAC & Digital Repository, one can browse through the following separate lists;
  • List of M. Tech. Theses in  Civil Engineering available here and with abstracts here here.

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks on Civil Engineering
Print Location: Library Stack Area
  • Bickel, J. O., Kuesel, T. R. and King, E. H., (1996). Tunnel engineering handbook. Boston: Springer
    Acc. No.: 008650                                         Call No.:624.193 BIC
     
  • Chen, W. F. and Duan, L. (Eds.). (2014). Bridge engineering handbook. construction and maintenance (2nd ed.). Boca Raton: CRC Press.
    Acc. No.: 007948                                         Call No.:624.2 BRI
     
  • Chen, W.-F. and Lui, E. M. (Eds.). (2005). Handbook of structural engineering (2nd ed.). Boca Raton: CRC Press.
    Acc. No.: 007959                                         Call No.:624.1: HAN
     
  • Fintel, M. (Ed.). (1985). Handbook of concrete engineering (2nd ed.). New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold.
    Acc. No.: 008625                                         Call No.:624.1834 FIN
     
  • Look, B. (2014). Handbook of geotechnical investigation and design tables (2nd ed.). Netherlands: CRC Press
    Acc. No.: 009160                                        Call No.:624.151 LOO
     
  • Nawy, E. G. (2008). Concrete construction engineering handbook. Boca Raton: CRC Press.
    Acc. No.: 009809                                         Call No.:624.1834 NAW
     
  • Chakrabarti, A. and Menon, D. (Eds.). (2010). Handbook on seismic retrofit of buildings. Oxford: Alpha Science International. Ltd.
    Acc. No.: 002789                                         Call No.:624.1762 CEN
     
  • Khanna, P. N. (1985). Indian practical civil engineers handbook. New Delhi: Universal Book Stall.
    Acc. No.: 015437                                         Call No.:624.023954 KHA
     
  • McMillan, G. K. and Considine, D. M. (Eds.). (1999). Process/industrial instruments and controls handbook (5th ed). New York: McGraw Hill.
    Acc. No.: 005852                                         Call No.:629.8 PRO
     
  • Naeim, F. (2001). Seismic design handbook. Boston: Springer
    Acc. No.: 007958                                         Call No.:624.1762 SEI

DICTIONARIES

Engineering Dictionary

Engineering Dictionary covers thousands of definitions of engineering terms and phrases encountered in a range related fields.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text availableopenURL
Provides an access to over 3000 e-books from more than 100 well-known publishers covering almost all disciplines.
E-Books Directory Some full text availableopenURL
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.
Free Engineering Books: Civil Engineering Some full text availableopenURL
Free Engineering Books Contains links to various  online engineering textbooks, online notes and reference materials  on various engineering topics such as computer, electronics, civil, mechanical, chemical, instrumentation and many more.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Internet Archive Some full text availableopenURL
Internet Archive is nonprofit digital library providing the free public access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
Million Book Project Some full text availableopenURL
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
Project Gutenberg Some full text availableopenURL
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks, user can choose among free e-pub format books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) openURL
A free bibliographic database offering over 200,000 records of all publications by American Society of Civil Engineers.
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC)
This (bibliographic only) database provides access to literature from over 45,000 journals published all over the world.

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.

PRINT JOURNALS

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

ASCE Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
ASCE Library is a comprehensive full text database which covers research articles on all disciplines of civil engineering subject. Currently, library provides access to only journals collection.
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive (NISEE E-Library) Restricted Resource Some full text available
It is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. Read more...
Emerald Insight Restricted Resource
Provided access to over 300 scholarly journals in business and management, library and information sciences, engineering and materials science

A-Z LIST OF E-JOURNALS

SciVerse ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a platform which hosts publications of Elsevier & associates and is a leading full-text database offering journal articles, e-books etc.  Library subscribes to selected list of core titles falling under five major subject collections i.e.: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Physics and Astronomy.
Springer Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics
E-Journals on Civil Engineering Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a comprehensive list of E-Journals dealing with Civil Engineering & related subjects which are subscribed by the Library. List available here

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

engrXiv Some full text availableopenURL
engrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. It covers areas like aerospace, chemical, electrical and computer, mechanical, operations research, systems and industrial, biochemical and bimolecular, civil and environmental, materials, nuclear and others. It is managed by engineering librarian community.
 

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.

STANDARDS AND CODES

Indian Standards (BIS) Restricted Resource Some full text available
BIS is the National Standards body of India, Library subscribes standards from Civil Engineering Division (CED).  Read more...
Public Safety Standards of the Republic of India Some full text availableopenURL
Public.resource.org is open standards & codes on public safety, world trade and world peace on a noncommercial basis.
To browse the detailed Standards Resource Guide click here

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Australian University Theses & Dissertations openURL
Australian University Theses & Dissertations are available under platform of Trove which serves as one point access to over 9,91,000 theses and dissertations.
Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK) Some full text availableopenURL
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.
IndCat : Online Catalogue of Theses openURL
It is an Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Some full text availableopenURL
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.
Theses Canada openURL
Theses Canada is a central access point for theses submitted to Canadian universities. It holds over 3 lakh theses from 70 universities in both electronic and print formats.

TECHNICAL REPORTS

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Free Patent Database
Here are the set of database and search engines providing access to search and retrieve patents.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

Subject Gateways on Civil Engineering
These serve catalogue of quality Internet resources in different disciplines.

NEWSLETTERS

OPEN COURSEWARE

ONLINE TUTORIALS

Civil Engineering Tutorials
The site covers free civil engineering training courses, downloadable civil engineering tutorials.
WizIQ Eucation.online: Civil Engineering Tutorials

WizIQ is a web-based platform for anyone and everyone who wants to teach and learn live, online. Teachers and students use WizIQ for its state-of-the-art virtual classroom, to create and share online educational content and tests.

VIDEO SOURCES

Free Video Lecture: Civil Engineering openURL Resource contains video
Civil engineering video lecture are covered all works that involves construction, maintenance and innovative design of different aspects and things like bridges, canals, buildings and more.
NPTEL Resource contains videoopenURL
NPTEL provides E-learning through online-web and video courses. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware.
Online Video Lecture: Civil Engineering openURL Resource contains video
Online video lecture is web-based online learning platform to the students. It is covered all science and technology online lectures.
TeacherTube openURL Resource contains video
TeacherTube is a free instructional and educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs shared by the teachers.
TEDx openURL Resource contains video
TEDx encourages discovering and sharing ideas with others. It has covered 30,000+ videos.

DISCUSSION FORUMS

Civil Engineering Forum
A discussion platform on civil engineering areas including difference, surveying materials, structural, RCC, presented concrete, Geotech, environment, transportation, WRE,CPM and other topics.
Civil Engineering Portal: Forum

This is a place where we can discuss anything related to civil engineering. From serious discussions to engineer jokes, we have covered it all.

BLOGS

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

Professional Bodies on Civil Engineering
This includes Indian and international professional bodies and by no means, it is comprehensive.
Indian Bodies International Bodies

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

CONFERENCES

AWARDS

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

Academia.edu openURL
Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers.
LinkedIn openURL
LinkedIn is the world's largest professional network with 300 million members in over 200 countries and territories around the globe.
Mendeley openURL
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network.
ResearchGate openURL
Advance your research, discover scientific knowledge, and make your research visible.

SOFTWARES

OTHER WEB RESOURCES

WELL-KNOWN ENGINEERS

Benjamin Wright
About: American Society of Civil Engineers declared Benjamin Wright the Father of American Civil Engineering. He was the Chief Engineer during the construction of the Erie Canal.

Resource sites:
http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~dav4is/people/WRIG351.htm
http://www.ascemetsection.org/content/view/401/981/
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/649461/Benjamin-Wright
http://www.marblecemetery.org/wrightb.htm


E. Sreedharan

About: Elattuvalapilan Sreedharan is an Indian Metro Man, who is famous for the completion of both the Konkan Railway and Delhi Metro Rail projects within the given budget and well on time.
Resources Site: Youtube Video: Click here
http://www.madehow.com/inventorbios/20/John-Smeaton.html
http://www.encyclopedia.com/topic/John_Smeaton.aspx
http://www.iloveindia.com/indian-heroes/e-sreedharan.html
http://www.spiderkerala.net/resources/12124-E-Sreedharan-Profile-and-Biography.aspx


John Smeaton

About: John Smeaton is the first self proclaimed civil engineer. He is often called the Father of Civil Engineering. He contributed greatly to the Industrial Revolution with his work on windmills and waterwheels.
Resources Sites: http://h2g2.com/edited_entry/A918371
http://structurae.net/persons/john-smeaton
http://www.aviation-history.com/early/smeaton.htm
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/549458/John-Smeaton
http://www.encyclopedia.com/topic/John_Smeaton.aspx
http://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/john-smeaton-5400.php


Squire Whipple

About: Squire Whipple was an American civil engineer, famously known as the ‘Father of Iron Bridge building in America’. This biography of Squire Whipple provides detailed information about his childhood, life, achievements, works & timeline.
Resources Site:
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/641873/Squire-Whipple
http://www.famousamericans.net/squirewhipple/
http://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/squire-whipple-5403.php
http://www.whipple.org/blaine/squire.html