Library | Resource Guides | Cognitive Science
Library Contact
LIBRARY
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Palaj,
Gandhinagar - 382355 | Gujarat | India
Tel: + 91-79-2395 2431
Email: librarian@iitgn.ac.in &  libraryservices@iitgn.ac.in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Citations or Reference Management Softwares
Cognitive Science
Welcome to Subject Resource Guide on Cognitive Science!
 

This resource guide serves as window to scholarly resources in the area of Cognitive Science. Resources listed here include those that are accessible through our library and also on the web.  It enable you to access from one point, the resources such as books, print and e-journals, popular magazines, databases, theses and dissertations  and other web based resources. This guide by no means is a comprehensive list, but serves as a useful starting point.  We strive to add newer resources and keep the entire range of resource lists updated from time to time.

We request your active participation in making this resource guide as most useful starting point for scholarly resources in the discipline and request for your comments and suggestions. 

IIT Gandhinagar Library WebOPAC
 
All Items by Source

RESOURCES AVAILABLE IN LIBRARY

Books
Print Location: Library Stack Area Restricted Resource

Library at IIT Gandhinagar has sizable collection of books and reading materials on Cognitive Science and most of these materials are classified under the following Class Numbers:

  • 005        Computer Science
  • 006.3     Artificial Intelligence
  • 128        Philosophy
  • 150        Psychology
  • 153        Cognitive Science
  • 410        Linguistics
  • 591        Behavioral Neurobiology
  • 612.8     Cognitive Neuroscience

  • Tolocate books in Cognitive Science available in Library, please search into Library WebOPAC
  • To browse the list of books (bibliography) in Cognitive Science which are currently available in Library, you may click here.

Course Readings
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library compiles & provides a list of books recommended by the faculty members for courses being taught during a semester. These books are usually placed under Course Reserve- CR  and Short Loan-SL. Such a list of books for the current semester is given here.
DVDs and CDs
Print Location: Library Circulation Desk Restricted Resource
Library has a fast growing collection of CDs and DVDs. This collection is organized separately and are available for viewing inside the library and may also be borrowed (restricted) as per your borrowing privileges. (Link). To browse the list, you may visit here.
Magazines and Newspapers
Print Location: Periodical Section Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library subscribes to good number of periodicals (Journals and Magazines) in print. These periodicals are separately displayed in alphabetical order in the periodical section of the Library. Older issues are available for borrowing as per the circulation privileges. 
The list of these periodicals is available here
Reference Books
Print Location: Both wall side of reading area in Library Restricted Resource
Library has sizable collection of reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuscripts, maps, yearbooks and directories etc. This collection is arranged separately on both the wall sides (left & right) in reading area of the Library.
  • To browse the list of Reference materials (bibliography) on Cognitive Science which are currently available in Library, you may click here
  • You may also like to search into Library WebOPAC

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks on Cognitive Science
Print Location: Library Stock Area
  • Dennett, D. C. (2010). Content and consciousness. London ; New York: Routledge.
    Acc. No.: 004162                                      Call No.:128.2 DEN
     
  • Gallagher, S. (Ed.). (2013). Oxford handbook of the self. Oxford ; New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
    Acc. No.: 014876                                      Call No.: 126 GAL
     
  • Hill, C. S. (2009). Consciousness. New York: Cambridge University Press.
    Acc. No.: 003771                                      Call No.: 153 HIL
     
  • Joinson, A. N. (Ed.). (2007). Oxford handbook of internet psychology. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press.
    Acc. No.: 007734                                      Call No.:303.483 OXF
     
  • Tulving, E. and Craik, F. I. M. (Eds.). (2000). Oxford handbook of memory. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press.
    Acc. No.: 007734                                      Call No.:303.483 OXF
     
  • Tye, M. (2003). Consciousness and persons: unity and identity. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press.
    Acc. No.: 001890                                      Call No.:126 TYE
     
  • Wegner, D. M. and Pennebaker, J. W. (Eds.). (1993). Handbook of mental control. Englewood Cliffs, Prentice Hall.
    Acc. No.: 008279                                      Call No.: 153.8 HAN

MIT CogNet Reference Works Restricted Resource
MIT CogNet provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press.

DICTIONARIES

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text availableopenURL
Provides an access to over 3000 e-books from more than 100 well-known publishers covering almost all disciplines.
E-Books Directory Some full text availableopenURL
Provides over 9327 academic peer-reviewed e-books, and other documents with links to the full text of the publication at the publisher website.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
A collaborative electronic book repository supported by 60 academic and research libraries. It provides free access to books, serials, standards, theses, etc.
Internet Archive Some full text availableopenURL
Internet Archive is nonprofit digital library providing the free public access to collection of digitized materials, including websites, music moving images and public domain books.
Million Book Project Some full text availableopenURL
A digitization project of books initiated by Carnegie Mellon University. It provides access to over 1.5 million e-books to the readers.
MIT CogNet Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
MIT CogNetprovidesaccess to over 700 e-books in in the area of cognitive science
Neuroscience Online, University of Texas Houston Medical School openURL
Neuroscience Online the open access Neuroscience Electronic Textbook is interactive courseware for the study of neuroscience.
Project Gutenberg: Psychology and Philosophy Bookshelf Some full text availableopenURL
Project Gutenberg offers free access to a huge collection of books.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography openURL
DBLP Provides bibliographic information on Computer Science. Indexes more than 1 million articles and also it contains 10,000 links to home pages of Computer Scientists.
ERIC Database openURL

The world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.


Indian Science Abstracts openURL
Indian Science Abstracts (ISA) is a bibliographical database published by NISCAIR.
IndMED openURL
IndMED - bibliographic database covering prominent peer reviewed 100 Indian medical journals bibliography.
J-Gate Custom Content for Consortium (JCCC)
This (bibliographic only) database provides access to literature from over 45,000 journals published all over the world.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Offers an online access to a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations in the area of language and literature. The access to this bibliography dates back to 1920 and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4400 journals and 1000 publishers. Read more... 
PubMed openURL
It is a database primarily of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

ATLAS

SEARCH ENGINES (SCHOLARLY)

CORE: Connecting Repositories openURL
Connecting Repositories aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Google Scholar openURL
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, dissertation and theses, books, conference papers and other research materials from around the world.
JURN openURL
Jurn is a free-to-use online search tool for finding and downloading free full-text scholarly works in various fields.
Microsoft Academic Search openURL
A public search engine for research papers and literature.
PsychSpider
PsychSpider is a unique search engine for psychology currently indexing more than 1250 web sites.
Psycline
Psycline is a guide to Psychological and Social Science Journals available on the World Wide Web.

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Annual Review Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Some of the titles which deal with the discipline are given here.
BioMed Central (BMC) Some full text availableopenURL
BioMed Central is an Open Access (OA) publisher and few of their journals cover Neurobiology, Neuroscience, Neurology and Psychiatry topics.
E-Clinical Central Some full text availableopenURL
This is a unique knowledge house of all the clinical conferences, journals and latest research which also include the titles relating to the discipline.
JoVE Behavior Restricted Resource Resource contains video Some full text available
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer reviewed journal published in video format devoted to the publication of scientific research. Library subscribes to JoVE Behavior section which may be directly related to cognitive science. Read more...
JSTOR Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR collection archives and provides access to archival of more than 3000 scholarly journals across more than 40 academic disciplines from 800+ publishers.Click here for accessing JSTOR Daily.
MedIND Some full text availableopenURL
MedIND is a portal providing free full text access to 62 Indian medical journals
MIT CogNet Restricted Resource Some full text available
MIT CogNet is an online collection of resources for the brain and cognitive science community scientific research work.Besides books & reference books, it has complete collection of five journals and provides abstracts of all major journals in the area of Cognitive Science Read more...
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
This is a collection of journals published by major University Presses in the area of humanities and social science. This collection covers quite a good number of titles dealing with the subject.Read more...
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Sage Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is one of the major publishers of journals in the humanities and social sciences areas.  Library subscribes to selected titles and the list is given here
Emerald Insight Restricted Resource
Provided access to over 300 scholarly journals in business and management, library and information sciences, engineering and materials science

A-Z LIST OF E-JOURNALS

Springer Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Library has access to over 1750 peer reviewed full-text journals published Springer, which includes good number of journals in the area of Physics
E-Journals on Cognitive Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a list of E-Journals on Cognitive Science, Linguistics, Computer Science and Philosophy subscribed by the Library. The list arranged in A to Z alphabetical order and to download the list, you may click here
To browse the A to Z E-Journals Lists subscribed by the Library, you may click here 

A-Z E-JOURNALS

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text availableopenURL
An online directory that indexes and provides access to 10,000 + high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.

E-PRINT ARCHIVES

ArXiv.org openURL
ViXra.org is an alternative e-print archive to the arXiv.org. It contains over 6000 plus e-prints in Arts and Humanities includes Archaeology.
CogPrints Some full text availableopenURL
CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in the area of Psychology, Neuroscience, Biology, Linguistics, and Computer Science.
Institut Nicod Eprints Archive Some full text availableopenURL
Institut Nicod Eprints Archive is archive of research papers in philosophy, sociology and cognitive science.
PhilSci-Archive Some full text availableopenURL
An electronic archive for preprints in the subject area of philosophy of science.
Social Science Research Network openURL
Provides access to wide variety of literature in social science covering from a number of specialized networks including cognitive science, leadership, management, and social insurance. Also covers some amount of literature in the area of archaeology.

TABLE OF CONTENT SERVICES (TOC)

JournalTOCs openURL
JournalTOCs provides table of contents (TOCs) from over 26,000 journals in all subjects. User can search for journals, set the email based alerts, and view the latest TOC for each journal and link to the full text.

OPEN TEXTBOOKS

College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
A collaborative collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations which are affiliated with more than 200 colleges.
Open Access Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Open Access Textbooks is  a FIPSE Grant Project to creating a model of open textbook and establish a state wide open textbook initiative.
Open SUNY Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
This is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

Australian University Theses & Dissertations openURL
Australian University Theses & Dissertations are available under platform of Trove which serves as one point access to over 9,91,000 theses and dissertations.
Ethos: Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library. UK) Some full text availableopenURL
A platform to access theses submitted by most of the UK higher education institutions. Ethos serves as an index to 300,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily. Electronic Theses Online Service (Ethos) offers free access to the limited number of full text of theses.
IndCat : Online Catalogue of Theses openURL
It is an Online Library Catalogues of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Some full text availableopenURL
Contains metadata & full text of more than one million electronic theses and dissertations contributed by 125+ member universities & consortia. To visit the Global ETD Search - http://search.ndltd.org/
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes  theses and dissertations from well-known sources and provide direct link to the full text ETD.
PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses Some full text availableopenURL
Provides access to full text of theses submitted by the researcher himself under open access initiative with PQDT open.
ShodhGanga, India Some full text availableopenURL
A source for theses submitted to Indian universities, which includes biological sciences & engineering.
Theses Canada openURL
Theses Canada is a central access point for theses submitted to Canadian universities. It holds over 3 lakh theses from 70 universities in both electronic and print formats.

ONLINE PATENT DATABASE

Free Patent Database
Here are the set of database and search engines providing access to search and retrieve patents.

SUBJECT GATEWAYS

NEWSLETTERS

OPEN COURSEWARE

ONLINE TUTORIALS

Cognition Laboratory Experiments Resource contains videoopenURL
Cognition Laboratory Experiments is small set of experiments designed for cognitive psychology classes.
Genes to Cognition Resource contains videoopenURL
Genes to Cognition (G2C) Online is about modern neuroscience. It focuses on cognitive disorders, cognitive processes, and research approaches.
GoCognitive Resource contains videoopenURL
Free Educational Tools for Cognitive Neuroscience and it is free access to materials for students, educators, and researchers in cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience.
Visible Embryo openURL
Visible Embryo is a comprehensive educational resource on human development from conception to birth. This site has images for most of the stages of prenatal development.

VIDEO SOURCES

Academic Earth openURL Resource contains video
Academic Earth offers free online video lectures from major universities and colleges. It has comprehensive collection of free online college courses and provides video lectures on humanities and science & technology.
Free Videos Letures Psychology Resource contains videoopenURL
Free videos Lecture contains 1000+ Free Courses, 25000+ Video Lectures from 30+ Universities on 35+ Subjects, user can download the videos to the difference formats.
Learners TV Resource contains videoopenURL
This is a comprehensive site providing thousands of downloadable Video lectures, Live Online Tests etc in the fields of science, computer science, engineering, medicine, management and accounting and psychology.
NPTEL Resource contains videoopenURL
NPTEL provides E-learning through online-web and video courses. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware.
TeacherTube openURL Resource contains video
TeacherTube is a free instructional and educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs shared by the teachers.
TEDx openURL Resource contains video
TEDx encourages discovering and sharing ideas with others. It has covered 30,000+ videos.
YouTube Lectures Resource contains videoopenURL
YouTube is provide the best lecture series videos on psychology, cognitive science and brain neuroscience.

DISCUSSION FORUMS

BrainMeta.com Forum
BrainMeta Forum was established for the purpose of accelerating the development of neurosciences through web-based interaction.
Ernst Strüngmann Forum
Ernst Strungmann Forum promotes the research and communication on cognitive science and interdisciplinary subjects.
Psychology Forum, The
The Psychology Forum is online academic community of the students, professionals researchers related to psychology and mental health.
Science Forum: Cognitive Science, Behavior, & Psychology
The Science Forum is Science discussion and the promotion of Science education in world.

BLOGS

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

PROFESSIONAL BODIES

RESEARCH FUNDING AGENCIES

CONFERENCES

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

AWARDS

SOCIAL NETWORKS (ACADEMIC)

RESEARCH ORGANIZATION

SOFTWARES

OTHER WEB RESOURCES

WELL-KNOWN SCIENTISTS

Daniel Kahneman

About: Daniel Kahneman is an Israeli-American psychologist, He got the 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences with Vernon L. Smith. Kahneman is notable for his work on the psychology of judgment and decision-making, behavioral economics.
Resource sites:
Lecture Videos: Click here
http://kahneman.socialpsychology.org/
http://www.nobelprize.org/mediaplayer/index.php?id=530


Herbert A. Simon

About: Herbert Alexander Simon is American social scientist known for his contributions to a number of fields, including psychology, mathematics, statistics and operations research, all of which he synthesized in a key theory that earned him the 1978 Nobel Prize for Economics.
Resource sites:
Nobel Prize Lecture
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/simon/bio.html
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Herbert_A._Simon
http://diva.library.cmu.edu/Simon/


Hermann Ebbinghaus

About: Hermann Ebbinghaus was a German psychologist who pion- eered the experimental study of memory, and is known for his dis- covery of the forgetting curve and the spacing effect. He was also the first person to describe the learning curve.
Resource sites:
Youtube Videos on Hermann Ebbinghaus click here 
http://www.intropsych.com/ch06_memory/ebbinghaus.html
http://peace.saumag.edu/faculty/kardas/Courses/HP/Lectures/ebbinghaus.html


Steven Pinker

About: Steven Pinker is an experimental psychologist who is intere- sted in all aspects of language and mind. Much of his initial research was in visual cognition, the ability to imagine shapes, recognize faces and objects and direct attention within the visual field.
Resource sites:
Filmed Talks: click here 
http://www.ted.com/speakers/steven_pinker
http://stevenpinker.com/biocv
Video Lecture on The Human Brain: click here


V.S. Ramachandran

About: V.S. Ramachandran is a neurologist best known for his work in the fields of behavioral neurology and psychophysics. He is currently the Director of the Center for Brain and Cognition at the University of California, San Diego.
Resource sites:
3 clues to understanding brain Video Lecture: click here
http://www.ted.com/speakers/vilayanur_ramachandran
http://www.albany.edu/writers-inst/webpages4/archives/ramachandran_vs11.html
http://www.beinghuman.org/mind/vs-ramachandran